Hanging with Pannonica - Live

Hanging with Pannonica - Live
2 Tracks 1 Disc
  • 1. Rain drops moving on a window (Eve Beuvens)
  • 2. Pannonica (Thelonious Monk)

'Hanging with Pannonica' is a reference to Monk's song 'Pannonica' that Eve covered during the solo show.  Thelonious Monk's music has accompanied the pianist since she was a child - music that she has always felt to be lively, percussive, subtle and sharp. Like contemporary painters that conjure up a world of textures and colours with a single brushstroke, Monk had the ability to conjure up an entire universe with a single note.

While playing his music, Beuvens explores every nook and cranny, constantly surprised by the humour that this music contains, a form of subtle second degree.

The character of Baroness Pannonica de Koeningswarter (after whom the title is named) has inspired several jazz composers.  Playing the pieces dedicated to her is a way - almost a century later - of getting to know her and, in a way, offers the strange feeling of spending time in her company.

Composed in the middle of the lockdown, "Rain Drops Moving on a Window" was recorded in the studio for the album "Inner Geography", released in 2021. This live version reminds us of the pleasure of (re)playing a song.

  • Released : 12/01/2024
  • Recorded : 2023
  • Reference : IGL362
  • Support : digital
  • Sound engineer : Vincent De Bast
  • Label : Igloo

Band in this album