Elusive

Elusive
14 Tracks 1 Disc
  • 1. Glowing Ride
  • 2. Piece for Ape
  • 3. Elusive
  • 4. Spring Air
  • 5. Incandescence
  • 6. Swirl
  • 7. Adal's Dance
  • 8. Kit's Stones
  • 9. The Tribe of Dream
  • 10. Syatco
  • 11. North Pearl
  • 12. Easy Peasy
  • 13. The East Man
  • 14. Epilogue

NOVA is an international quintet led by Belgian bassist Félix Zurstrassen. He is, in many ways, an artist apart. His rare virtuosity combines the extreme demands that his music requires and the way in which he offers it to the public: like a clear, collective and generous adventure.

 His demanding approach can mostly be seen in the way he gathers around him exceptional musicians who, without him, might never have crossed paths. Alongside him, we find:

the Franco-Brazilian Nelson Veras, undoubtedly one of the great inventors of the guitar today. He radically redefined its foundations and pushed the limits very far.

Ben van Gelder, a Dutch saxophonist and long-term NYC resident, whose grounded discourse in tradition is elaborated with an extraordinary sense of the moment, so drawing the contours of a bright future. This approach does not contradict the adage of Gustav Mahler, which could concern all the members of this exceptional group: "Tradition is not the worship of ashes, but the preservation of fire.”

Antoine Pierre is a Belgian drummer-composer who embraces styles with ease. His playing is imbued with a very particular concentration and an indisputable sincerity. He has been one of Zurstrassen's long-standing partners.

His sessions reveal the many facets of British pianist and organist Kit Downes through their recordings for the ECM label, his immense culture - which places Jazz and classical music at the same level of excellence - makes him an essential catalyst for this music in perpetual motion. 

As the leader of the group NOVA, Zurstrassen stands nobly in the right place to showcase compositions full of surprises and detours, specially designed for his brilliant companions through subtle bass playing - like delicately directed whispers. Here, he acts like a stage director that chooses and reveals talents, without necessarily choosing to say much; his music speaks for itself. 

 Immersed in music since childhood, Félix was exposed to the complexities of rhythm and harmony at an early age. Nourished by these elements, he has created a world whose melodic force offers listeners the perfect sesame. They are then swept away by a music made up of surprises, like so many decors to he discovered, flabbergasted by so much invention, carried away by the masterful cohesion of an ideal European group of staggering maturity. 


Band in this album


Musicians

Elusive

Elusive
14 Plages 1 Disque
  • 1. Glowing Ride
  • 2. Piece for Ape
  • 3. Elusive
  • 4. Spring Air
  • 5. Incandescence
  • 6. Swirl
  • 7. Adal's Dance
  • 8. Kit's Stones
  • 9. The Tribe of Dream
  • 10. Syatco
  • 11. North Pearl
  • 12. Easy Peasy
  • 13. The East Man
  • 14. Epilogue

NOVA est un quintette international dirigé par le bassiste belge Félix Zurstrassen. Il est, à bien des égards, un artiste à part. Il conjugue avec une rare virtuosité l’extrême exigence que requiert sa musique et la manière dont il sait l’offrir au public : comme une aventure limpide, collective et généreuse.

 L’exigence, il la place avant toute chose dans la façon qu’il a de réunir autour de lui des musiciens d’exception et qui, sans lui, auraient bien pu ne jamais se croiser. On trouve ainsi à ses côtés :

Nelson Veras, franco-brésilien, sans aucun doute l’un des grands inventeurs de la guitare contemporaine, il en a radicalement redéfini les bases, et très loin repoussé les limites.

Ben van Gelder, saxophoniste néerlandais longtemps basé à NYC, dont le discours ancré dans la tradition s’élabore avec un sens de l’instant hors norme, dessinant dans le même temps les contours d’un futur radieux. Une approche qui ne fera pas mentir l’adage de Gustav Mahler, qui pourrait concerner tous les membres de ce groupe d’exception : « La tradition n’est pas le culte des cendres, mais la préservation du feu. »

Antoine Pierre est un batteur-compositeur belge qui embrasse les styles avec une aisance confondante, empreinte d’une concentration toute particulière et d’une indiscutable sincérité. Il est de longue date l’un des partenaires de cœur de Zurstrassen.

On a découvert les multiples facettes de Kit Downes à travers ses enregistrements pour le label ECM. Pianiste et organiste britannique, sa culture immense - qui place le Jazz et la musique classique au même niveau d’excellence - fait de lui un catalyseur essentiel à cette musique en perpétuel mouvement.

Quant au leader du groupe NOVA, il se tient avec noblesse à la juste place pour mettre en valeur, par un jeu de basse d’une grande subtilité - telles des directions délicatement murmurées - des compositions pleines de surprises et de détours, tout spécialement conçues pour ses brillants comparses. Il agit ici tel un metteur scène, qui choisit et révèle les talents, sans nécessairement faire le choix d’en dire beaucoup ; sa musique parle d’elle-même.

 En enfant de la balle, Félix a très tôt côtoyé la complexité du langage rythmique et harmonique. Nourri de ces éléments, il a créé un monde dont la force mélodique offre à l’auditeur le parfait sésame. Il est alors emporté par une musique faite de surprises, comme autant de décors qu’il découvrira, sidéré de tant d’invention, emporté par la magistrale cohésion d’un groupe européen idéal, d’une sidérante maturité.


Groupe sur cet album


Musiciens